Open Travel Guide
  1. Home
  2. Destinations
  3. Japan
  4. Osaka
  5. Osaka
  6. Food Tours
  7. Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class

Food Tours · Osaka, Osaka

Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class

  • DurationAbout 2.5 hours
  • PriceAbout ¥5,500–7,000 (~$35–45) per person

The Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class is a cooking class of about 2.5 hours in Osaka, Japan, run by Cooking Sun Osaka. The listing states that the studio address is provided on booking, so the exact neighbourhood is not published here, and the class is booked through the operator's website with instruction in English.

Cooking Sun Osaka class covering sushi, takoyaki.

The Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class is a cooking class of about 2.5 hours in Osaka, Japan, run by Cooking Sun Osaka. The listing states that the studio address is provided on booking, so the exact neighbourhood is not published here, and the class is booked through the operator's website with instruction in English. The menu covers sushi and takoyaki, two dishes with different roles: sushi is the best-known Japanese dish internationally, while takoyaki, the octopus-filled batter balls cooked in special moulded pans, is a signature street food of Osaka. Participants typically learn rice preparation and rolling or shaping techniques for sushi, and batter, filling and turning technique for takoyaki, then eat what they prepare. The balance is savoury, and the listing does not mention a dessert course. The price is about 5,500 to 7,000 yen (roughly US$35 to 45) per person, which is moderate for a studio class in Japan. What the fee includes beyond instruction and ingredients is not detailed, so visitors should ask whether drinks, recipes and take-home materials are provided. Group size is not stated; studio classes are often small and hands-on, but this should be confirmed with the operator. Dietary substitutions are not described. Because takoyaki centres on octopus and sushi on raw or cooked seafood, vegetarians, pescatarians and people with allergies to shellfish, fish, gluten or egg should contact the operator before booking to ask about alternatives. The class takes place indoors, so it suits any season and any weather, and it works well for visitors who want a structured, instructor-led introduction to Osaka's food rather than a walking tour. Learning to make takoyaki is especially appropriate in Osaka, where many households own a takoyaki pan.

Practical information for Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class · Last updated September 2026
Price About ¥5,500–7,000 (~$35–45) per person
Duration About 2.5 hours
Booking Book via operator website; English instruction
Address Studio address provided on booking

Good to know

Operator
Cooking Sun Osaka

Location

Studio address provided on booking

Highlights

  • Hands-on sushi making with English instruction
  • Takoyaki, the signature Osaka street food, cooked from scratch
  • Studio class of about 2.5 hours
  • Eating the dishes prepared during the class

Tips for visiting

  • Notify the operator of seafood, gluten or egg allergies when booking.
  • Wear clothing suitable for cooking and tie back long hair.
  • Arrive with an appetite, since the dishes made are eaten at the end.
  • Ask whether drinks and recipes are included in the fee.
  • Confirm the studio address after booking, as it is provided then.

When to visit

The class runs indoors all year, so it suits rainy days or midsummer heat. Book ahead in spring and autumn peaks.

Accessibility

Studio accessibility is not stated. Visitors using wheelchairs or mobility aids should ask the operator about steps and lift access when requesting the address.

Frequently asked questions

What dishes are made in the class?

The menu covers sushi and takoyaki.

How much does the class cost?

About 5,500 to 7,000 yen (roughly US$35 to 45) per person.

Is the class taught in English?

Yes, the listing states English instruction and booking through the operator's website.

Ready to book

Cooking Sun Osaka Studio Class

Find this tour on GetYourGuide

We may earn a commission from bookings made through this link.